Wanted: Creative Genius

After a particularly rotten day at work last week I found myself checking out the positions vacant. You are probably familiar with this scenario – it’s the result of feeling unappreciated and generally unloved at work. It happens when too many of your ideas have been rejected or when the project you’ve been working on just isn’t making any progress. You think to yourself “if they don’t appreciate me, I’ll just find someone else who will”.

Anyway, I came across an ad for a ‘passionate and innovative big picture thinker’. They wanted someone who could come up with ‘exciting, forward thinking ideas’. Yahoo, I thought. That’s me!

There was only one problem – well two really. I am not a brand strategist with six years experience and I don’t live in Los Angeles. Actually,  I don’t even live in the US.

This depressed me for a while. I may have mentioned before that I am a little bit prone to day dreaming about careers I would like to have had, (as if my own perfectly good career wasn’t enough). But although I admit to spending a large amount of time thinking about other lives I could have led, I really do believe that we have enormous capacity to be creative and innovative no matter where we are or what we do. It’s just a matter of believing in ourselves and having enough confidence to put our ideas forward.

There are only so many jobs in the world for digital creatives, art directors and brand strategists (although I’m planning to come back in the next life as a brand strategist, whatever that is.) What the world needs is more creative people working in government, making better policies, planning better cities and teaching children to read and write. That’s where we need good ideas and people who can solve problems.

So where ever you are and what ever you do, do it with passion. Stop waiting for someone to give you permission to have good ideas and just begin.

 

Like to share your thoughts?

