No special talent required

According to the physicist Richard Feynman, no special talent or ability is required to understand quantum mechanics. There is only practice, reading and learning. Feynman claims that anyone who is willing to devote the necessary time and energy can become a scientist and that he is not especially brilliant, just persistent.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately as I’m pretty sure that the same could be said of most creative endeavours. Sure it helps if you are a little bit talented, but the good news is that being good at most things is merely a case of hard work and dedication. If you’re like me and you’re a little bit lazy, this may actually come as bad news. I spend a lot of time doing anything other than working and then claim that I’m just not very gifted. The truth is that you can become quite proficient at most things if you put enough effort into it.

As I write this I can hear my husband painstakingly picking out the notes to a new tune on his ukulele. I know that in a week or so he will have mastered yet another new song. I know that I could probably do a great many things reasonably well if only I put in some hard practice.

So that’s where I’m off to now. I need to buckle down and do some work, how about you?

One thought on “No special talent required

Like to share your thoughts?

