Blogging challenge: day one

Lately I’ve been spending quite a bit of time reading the blogs of people who are taking part in a blogging challenge. This means that they post something new every day and not just occasionally (as I tend to do). Some of this writing is interesting and some of it is a little bit boring, but each and every one of these bloggers is doing something that I’m not doing very much of, and that’s writing. No matter how hard I try, I cannot pretend that I am too busy to spend a few minutes every day doing some writing. After all, what is so damned hard about pecking at the keyboard in an effort to express an idea, or to share something interesting with the world?

I went to band rehearsal tonight and someone had written a message on the whiteboard that I think was meant for me…

“You should practise every day that you eat”

That pretty much means that unless you are so ill that you must take to your bed and refrain from eating, then you should make a bit of time to develop your skills in your chosen field.

As I have mentioned before, I am a champion procrastinator. I like to pretend that my lack of output is just the result of being too busy or too tired, but deep in my heart I know that there is a big scaredy-cat who has just lost a bit of momentum and a bit of confidence.

So dear reader, it is time to get back on the blogging horse. I hereby commit to posting every day for the month of May. Who knows where it will lead?

Are you up for a challenge? Would you like to join me? I would love to hear from you if you are…

Like to share your thoughts?

