Blogging challenge: day three

Today I’d like to talk a bit about a book I have been reading called “Standing at the water’s edge” by Anne Paris. This is a lovely book about creativity and what conditions we need in order to immerse ourselves in the creative process.

According to Paris (a psychotherapist who helps people get past their creative blocks), artists of all kinds require ‘certain types of relationships with other people in order to create’. We need relationships that support us, that affirm us, and gentle criticism from people we trust. This got me thinking about two things:

  1. Would I really describe myself as an artist or a creative person?
  2. Do I have the kind of relationships that a creative person requires?

Should I describe myself as a creative person, (or is this just wishful thinking?)

I think the answer to this is simple, but at the same time quite complicated. I have quite a few books about creativity on my desk at work and I think that this has given some of my colleagues the idea that I am a creative person. I’m not sure if this is really correct, but on the other hand, I do strongly believe that we are all creative in our own way and that sometimes its just a matter of recognising and celebrating our creativity.

Do I have the kinds of relationships that nurture creativity (and if I don’t what do I do about this?)

I have lots of different relationships with people in my day to day life. Some of them definitely support my sense of who I am, or who I would like to be, and others are less positive. I don’t think that you can chuck people out of your life because they don’t contribute to a healthy sense of self (especially if they are members of your family), but you can definitely nurture relationships with people who support whatever it is that you are trying to achieve. Fortunately, I have a lovely family and a great husband who does support me and is one of my biggest champions, but even if he wasn’t, I don’t think you can just ditch people who aren’t giving you what you need. You do, however, need to cultivate relationships with people who support you and affirm you as a person and hopefully you will do the same for them.

What do you think? Do you hesitate to describe yourself as creative and if so, why?

Like to share your thoughts?

