Blogging challenge: day twenty-seven

Are you the sort of person that is known for asking a lot of questions? And more importantly, are they good questions? I must admit that I am known as a bit of a serial questioner at my workplace. Sometimes it annoys people, but often people really appreciate being asked some tough questions about what we are doing and why.

In “A more beautiful question” Warren Berger poses the idea that true creativity comes from asking the right questions, both of other people and ourselves.

Some of the questions that can spark creative thinking at work include:

Why are we doing this?

Is there a better way of doing this?

What do our customers really want?

Who really benefits from our product or service in the long-term?

If we could only provide one service, what would it be?

What do we want to be known for?

Some questions you can ask yourself include:

What do I really want out of life?

What single thing would I like to be good at, if I could only choose one area of expertise?

What do I enjoy doing most at work?

What do I enjoy doing most in my spare time?

If I knew I couldn’t fail, what activity would I start learning right now?

I could go on and on, but I do think that it is worth spending some time thinking about what matters to you and why you are doing the things you do.

If you are known for asking a lot of questions, I suggest you keep it up. Someone quite close to you might be relying on you to ask some difficult questions to help them clarify their thinking.

Like to share your thoughts?

