Blogging challenge: day thirty-one

Well here we are at day thirty-one. I didn’t really think I would make it to the end of this blogging challenge. In case you’ve just joined me, my goal was to write a post every day in May, and I’ve achieved this, so I’m happy about that.

The reason I set myself this challenge was because I was a bit stuck. I hadn’t been posting very much and I got a bit caught up in thinking that I didn’t really have anything to say and/or I needed to write something really profound in order to post something. I wanted to force myself to be in the position where I just had to write something, it didn’t need to be great, I just needed to do it.

After thirty-one days of consecutive posting this is what I have found:

  1. You can write about anything if you really have to. Some days I really felt I had nothing to say, but I got into the habit of being on the lookout for ideas and shareable content. In the end, I found it was quite easy to write about something if I stopped worrying about it needing to be great.
  2. I’ve increased the number of readers (I hate calling you followers, it always sounds like you’re slaves or disciples). I’ve checked out all the blogs of my new subscribers and some of them are fantastic. I’m not sure why you have subscribed to this blog because you haven’t said, but I’m glad you are on board.
  3. This leads me to my next point, which is that only one person has every responded in the comments, despite my pleading. I have no idea how to get people to respond without being offensive, so any suggestions would be great.

I’d like to thank everyone who has joined me on this journey. I would really love some feedback (positive or negative) and I promise I’ll try to blog regularly from now on!

Like to share your thoughts?

