Learning from Vacation…about Work

Sometimes you read a post by someone who don’t even know and you just feel connected. I think it’s because you share their world view or just their general philosophy on life. It’s nice anyway, so I thought I’d share it with you.

evaluatedlife

The first two weeks of August my family went on a camping road trip from our home in Maine to my brother-in-law’s wedding near San Diego.  It was the first two week vacation I’d  taken in at least five years.  It won’t be that long before I do it again.

Here are are a few lessons I learned  (or was reminded of ) while on the road.

You see differently close up and open.

I’ve come to think of myself as a homebody because I spend so much time in and around my house.  I am NOT a homebody!  I’m an introvert who telecommutes.  I love new experiences, traveling, and being with people.   Attending to inner and outer worlds is important for balance.   Daily routines need shaking up with adventure.

There’s so much adventure to be had out there, in the real world, without an internet connection or device. …

View original post 775 more words

2 thoughts on “Learning from Vacation…about Work

  1. evaluatedlife says:

    I think you’re the first person to reblog one my posts. Thank you, Marg. For me the best part of the internet is finding new people to resonate with. I’m happy to have found a kindred spirit. The book I was reading on talents is Finding your Element by Sir Ken Robinson. His TED talk on creativity is great. Robinson would say each of us is creative and our journey is to express that creativity in our own unique way.

    • Margaret says:

      Hi Anne and thanks for responding. This whole internet thing is a bit weird isn’t it? You never know whether the person on the other end of a comment is a fruitcake, but rest assured – I think I’m fairly normal. There would be a smiley face here if I knew how to do that!
      Thanks for answering my question about the book you were reading. I’m familiar with Ken Robinson and have used his talks in some training courses that I’ve delivered. He’s a wonderful speaker and writer. I agree wholeheartedly with his ideas about creativity. We are all creative in our own way. It’s just a matter of recognising our own special skills.

Like to share your thoughts?

