Back in the land of the living

Here I am, back in the land of the living, or more accurately back in blogging land. I’ve been reading a few posts about how to revive a much neglected blog (like this one) and how to get back to doing what you really love doing but for some reason have stopped doing!

The most helpful advice was to stop being precious about what you write. Just write something, anything to get you back in the groove and back into the habit of writing and posting.

Taking that first tiny step is hard though. Every time I thought about writing a post I thought about whether it would be useful, interesting, or even just plain coherent. In desperation I’ve taken the somewhat radical and counter-intuitive step of disconnecting this blog with all of my other social media platforms (i.e. FaceBook, Twitter etc) in the hope that a degree of anonymity will give me the freedom to say what I really want to say. I want to quieten down the inner editor, the little voice that insists that every word is rubbish.

If you’ve subscribed to this blog in good faith, then quite possibly you are a lovely person who shares my view that being creative is hard but kind of unavoidable. I really do believe that there’s a creative person hiding inside everyone, just waiting for the chance to express themselves. My particular passion is writing, but for you it might be art, music or painting. Or cooking, or needlework, or anything really!

There’s never been a great rush of comments in response to any of my posts, but my teaching experience tells me that sometimes you can touch people’s lives in ways that are subtle and unpredictable. I’ve been privileged to teach many adults over the years and on a couple of occasions I’ve met people later in life who’ve told me that something I said when I was teaching a class had really influenced their lives or the way they thought about the world. It’s a good feeling but also a warning to be very careful what you say to people, especially if they’ve had a tough life.

So here I am. Where are you? Chime in with a comment or just let me know about your struggles. It would be good to share experiences.

Like to share your thoughts?

